colorado-road-map Yang is an international student and senior at the Denver Waldorf School in Denver, Colorado.

Waldork Status: 1 year.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Yang: I just think the morning verse is nice. It is also a good way to start a day. When I was in China, we used to sing songs or read Chinese poems every morning. The morning verse actually reminds me of that.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I wrote about how I became interested in Computer Science and my journey from a life without computer to exploring more and more of computers.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

I was in China when I was in ninth grade. I was under the pressure of High School Entrance Exam. When I was in Canada and the US, I found more kinds of challenges for me and I went through them very well. If I could give my ninth grade self an advice, I would say that just working hard and concentrating on one challenge every time, and then you would find yourself did everything fine.

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

Maybe Fall/Harvest/Winter fair.

Foreign exchange? Where?

No.

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

 I felt the most pride each time I completed a art project, such as stone carving project.

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

I felt the senior project was the most challenging part for me. Choosing and working on a project for myself was a new experience for me. Also, my senior project was teaching myself how to play the Chinese flute. Of course I did not have a teacher. It was very difficult to learn by myself.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

Do not decide whether a place is good or not too early, because everything happened has its own reason. When I first came to Denver, I did not really like Colorado because I was not used to the weather here. However, I got used to it and started to like here. Finally, I chose CU Boulder for university studying. Also, to be honest, I did not really like Waldorf School when I first came here, because it is so different than my previous schools. However, what interested me was meeting people. I got to know more about Waldorf teachers and students and their way of thinking. I felt good to have this experience of knowing more people and their opinions on certain things. Therefore, I think I should not judge things too early, because life has its own reason every time it gives me something.