pennsylvania-road-mapLee is a senior at Kimberton Waldorf School in Kimberton, Pennsylvania.

Waldork Status: 10 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Lee: It makes me ponder how the human is connected to the world and the universe not only scientifically, but spiritually as well.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I described my self-taught passion for landscape photography.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

 Truly try to live in the moment. Enjoy spending time with your classmates and never take your Waldorf education for granted. Always be thankful.

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

Fall and winter are my favorite times of the year. The cold seems to bring people together.

Foreign exchange? Where?

Nope. But wish I had…

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

Whenever I talk to public school kids…

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

At the moment we are working on senior projects which seem quite daunting. I’m sure once it’s done and over with it will be one of my best experiences of my Waldorf high school career.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

One truth I will always hold with me because of Waldorf is that learning needs to be fun. I have found from my experience that when I am force-fed material that is not presented in a way that challenges my mind, body, and soul and that does not instill an excitement within me for said material, I have a very hard time comprehending what it is I “should be” learning. Waldorf has successfully taught me that it isn’t just your brain that does the learning, it truly is your whole body.