new-york-road Matteo, a  CO-founder of the Best of Waldorf Art Facebook page, and a graduate from Green Meadow Waldorf School, class of 2015, in Chestnut Ridge, New York.
Waldork Status: Self-proclaimed Lifer.
What does the morning verse make you think about?
The morning verse is often a controversial part of Waldorf education. Some of my classmates would stay silent during the word ” God”. For Me however, it represented community. It was the one thing that brought us together each morning, in unison. 170 days a year, for 12 years some of us spoke those words together creating an unbreakable bond.
If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about?
I wrote my essay about not talking for a full day in school. How it helped me, because a better person and opened my ears to listen and be more aware of my surroundings. This was made possible by being in a small class, and having Waldorf teachers open minded enough to let me try this.
Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?
Waldorf education isn’t absolute. Its not about right or wrong when it comes to learning, but simply planting the seed for you to grow your knowledge in the future.  If i had known this I wouldn’t have argued everything I did.
Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?
Fall fair.
Foreign exchange? Where?
I went to Argentina for three months. The relationship i had to my class but more importantly to my family and exchange is a connection that I have no been able to replicate. The family became my second family and the house very much became my home.
When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?
When I gave a rose to a first grader at the beginning of 12th grade because it was the beginning of the idea that I was toward the end of completing my 12 years.
When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?
The most challenging for me was 9th grade. I arrived with expectations people had of me. I got a B- and C my first to blocks, and people started asking me if I was okay. I was great… just not at physics and chemistry.
What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?
Learning a concept is something, but learning to learn and think are priceless skills that can help you going forward. Also you never know when you are going to need to sow on a new button 😉