pennsylvania-road-mapMariah is a Waldorf high school graduate who wanted to share her story. She graduated from Kimberton Waldorf School in 2015.

Waldork Status: 15 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

It makes me think about how I am a connected part of the world and how all parts of the world are interconnected. It also makes me think about how I and the rest of the world are all living and growing, and nothing stays the same for too long.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about?

I am actually applying to transfer so I wrote about why I wanted to transfer but last year I wrote my personal essay on a time when I was on a class trip in 8th grade in Costa Rica doing an Outward Bound program and I was able to conquer my fear of thunderstorms because we were caught in a thunderstorm on the top of a mountain on my birthday and it was honestly the most scared I have ever been in my life but I was able to get through it and I was with my class which was like a family to me. Since then I haven’t been scared of thunderstorms.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

I would have told my ninth grade self to not focus on what I didn’t have and focus on what I did have.

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

May faire for sure because it means it’s spring and there are flowers and everything/everyone is happy and light. 

Foreign exchange? Where?

Yes!! Buenos Aires, Argentina. It was THE BEST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. I got to go back to visit for 10 days in December as my graduation present, and I still feel like it is my second home. I also gained so much independence and more Spanish than I knew what to do with.

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

I would say graduation, but I know you’re asking seniors this question and they haven’t graduated yet so before that I would say my senior project (making breads from around the world) and performing as a lead in the high school’s musical. But if we’re talking earlier than those I would have to say the Rose Ceremony in the beginning of Senior year when I gave my first grade buddy a rose as I had seen classes do for years before me. In that moment I felt so proud that I had come so far and now I was giving this gift (not really, but you get what I mean) to a new first grader.

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

When I had to synthesize readings for Socratic circles in my humanities class.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

It is important to be who you are and stand up for what you believe in. You shouldn’t be indifferent to anything, you should always have a point of view, because that helps define who you are.