netherlands_pol87 Hannah is a graduate, class of 2015 at the Waldorf School in Zeist, Utrecht, The Netherlands. 

Waldork Status: 15 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

It reminds me that today is a new day full of new challenges and opportunities.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I wrote a book about a girl who discovers herself while on a journey to a magic land. She meets new people, new cultures and a new way of living. While she’s on that journey, she loses everything she has, and by doing that, she finds herself.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

I would tell myself that it is OK to be alone sometimes, and that in that loneliness I would be able to find myself and find the people that I truly wanted to be (friends) with. I would make sure that I would know that the only person I could be was myself, and that being that person is the best person I could ever be. 

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

Spring/May/Medieval fair, because Spring is about new life, it is about appreciating the warmth and the sunlight; everyone feels more alive and positive.

Foreign exchange? Where?

I went to Toronto, Canada, and stayed for three months. 

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

I was so proud when we went to the most amazing Concert Hall in the Netherlands with our choir (which was grades 8 through 12) and performed Mozart’s Requiem for 1500 people. 

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

I live an hour bike away from my school so it was a challenge everyday to get on that bike and ride a total of 32 km. 

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

Something I discovered while going to a Waldorf School was that you can be anyone you want. As long as you are willing to fight for what you want, anything is possible. Some people will let you down and some will help you to get up, but being true to yourself is the key to your happiness.