Maryland mapEmily is a senior at Washington Waldorf School in Bethesda, Maryland.

Waldork Status: 8 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Emily: The imagery in the morning verse (stones that repose, the stars are sparkling etc.) brings to mind all of the colorful experiences I’ve had through Waldorf, whether it’s through class camping trips, or using pencil shavings to really make my main lesson book cover page shine! As I get older though, I actually think about what the verse means, and I try to carry some parts of it in my daily life, especially “to learn and work may grow within my inmost being”

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 
I wrote my essay about how this past summer, I wanted to get a steady part-time job, but I didn’t hear anything back from any of the places I applied to, so I decided to market myself as a babysitter, pet sitter, lawnmower and taxi service for kids (aka Uber by Emily).
Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?
School will get more difficult; develop your work ethic now so you can slack off later.
Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?
Fall fair!
Foreign exchange? Where?
To Escuela Libre Micael in Las Rozas, Spain (a suburb of Madrid)
When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?
Being at Hermit Island.
When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?
During every single independent research project we had (the senior project most of all!)
What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?
Everything imaginable is connected in some way, however small or inconsequential. There is value in finding those connections
Emily’s favorite Waldorf memory:
Last year, my class was driving back from Kimberton, PA after a week working at the Camphill Special School there. We were driving through the toll lane in Baltimore and I made eye contact with a guy in the car in the lane next to us. He stared at me for a couple of seconds then started to do eurythmy at us! It took me a couple of seconds to realize what was happening, but then I started screaming to my classmates about what was happening. He must have been a Waldorf kid and seen that we were too, from our school bus.