new-hampshireLoey is a senior at Monadnock Waldorf High School in Keene, New Hampshire.

Waldork Status: 4 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Loey: I kind of love the morning verse. I know it’s a bit like a drone because we all say it every morning, but I think it’s lovely to start the day by acknowledging the world and its inhabitants and by wishing for “strength and grace and skill for learning and for work”.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I wrote my Common App essay on a speed card game my family plays called squinch. The question I was answering was whether there was a moment or event that signified my transition from childhood to adulthood etc etc and mine was when I got old enough and good enough to really play the game with the grown-ups.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

Don’t worry so much. In the grand scheme of things, one French test or overly friendly text message that you can’t un-send isn’t going to matter a whit.

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

I’m not sure we do these… The closest things I can think of are Michaelmas and the craft fair, but those are both in the fall? Or do you mean May Day? I don’t know. I like spring better than the fall at any rate.

Foreign exchange? Where?

Not I, sadly. If I had, I’d have gone to France. I wish I had gone, though, because my French would be so much better and I think I would have had fun.

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

This one is difficult. I feel proud every time I pull off something artistic that I didn’t know I could. I feel proud when our class goes on trips out in public and we have fun but not in an obtrusive way. I feel proud when my first grade buddies hug me because we have such a connection with the lower grades. Honestly, I feel proud at lunch when a mixed-grade group is eating all together and shouting and joking as though we’re all siblings.

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

The most difficult part of my school has been the itty-bitty-teeny-weeny size of my class (we are six). We love each other like family, but it gets difficult sometimes to be around one another so constantly.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

Even if you don’t like someone or seriously disagree with them, if you are respectful and kind no matter how they treat you, you will feel good in yourself and will be able to get along with anyone (even if you don’t like them.)