mao of maine smallSophie is a senior at Maine Coast Waldorf School in New Gloucester, Maine.

Waldork Status: 4 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Sophie: The morning verse makes me think about being present through out the day and connecting the inner self with the outer world.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I wrote about my Japanese heritage and how I came to accept it.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

I would tell me ninth grad self to speak up more and stop thinking about what is considered cool.

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

The fall fair because it has a bigger variety of activities and stands.

Foreign exchange? Where?

I went to Geneva, Switzerland for my exchange.

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

I feel the most pride when my class woks together to do something for the community, for example, organizing a food drive or a school dance.

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

I felt the most challenged when I went on exchange and experienced a completely different culture.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

The best way to gain respect is to be confident, ask questions and do what you love.