mao of maine smallPhoebe is a senior at Maine Coast Waldorf School in New Gloucester, Maine. She is also the creator and editor of Words of Waldorks.

Waldork Status: 15 years.

Words of Waldorks: What does the morning verse make you think about?

Phoebe: I always find myself picturing a mossy glen and then later on in the verse I tend to think about a rocky coast and the sunrise. Also I feel the weight of the day being lifted slightly off my shoulders.

If you applied to college this year, what did you write your personal/ Common App essay about? 

I wrote about working at Vinland, a restaurant in Portland, Maine in the summer; what it means to be a young women in a kitchen full of men. Also about the concept of leading from behind.

Looking back, what advice would you tell your ninth grade self?

Chill out, work just as hard as you feel you need to, and do exactly what you think is best because… Spoiler alert! Everything turned about fine so far!

Fall/harvest/winter fair vs. Spring/May/Medieval fair… which is better?

Fall Fair = better food.  No comparison necessary.

Foreign exchange? Where?

I went to Chateauneuf du Pape, France and stayed for 2 months.

When did you feel the most pride during Waldorf High School?

I am always so proud of my class and  way we have always had strong relationships with each other and the rest of the school. The fact that a six person senior class can care about everyone at the high school and hold our class together in more than just a casual friendship is really impressive, and has given me an example for the rest of my life.

When did you feel the most challenged during Waldorf High School?

The fact that I live an hour away from school was a huge challenge when I started at the school. I can’t hang out with friends as much or go to spur of the moment parties. It has now become almost a blessing because I have more time where I can do nothing, listen to music or do homework.

What is one truth about life that you will hold as an adult that you were given or discovered at Waldorf school?

Waldorf school has taught me that my opinions matter and what I believe, has a place in the world. By believing in what you yourself find true fosters the kind of self esteem that my generation of 18 year old people lack. My life as a Waldorf student taught me that all the ideas of a group and the opinions of that group matter and not to shut out those people who have quieter voices.